Skip to main content

Government Documents and Information: International Organizations & Statistics

Finding government documents & information at the Drain-Jordan Library, online, and around the world

United Nations

Flag of the UN

"The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights." -UN.org

Not finding what you're looking for? Google it!

If you're not finding what you're looking for on this guide, feel free to Google it! As a good rule of thumb stick with .gov or .mil sites and you can find great resources through the U.S. government. These sites will generally avoid bias, contain no ads, and update regularly.

We have already put in the .gov and .mil site limiters for you, so simply add your search term(s) before of after the text in the Google search box.

International Organizations and Statistical Information

Census.gov

"The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. We honor privacy, protect confidentiality, share our expertise globally, and conduct our work openly."

Europa 

The "Gateway to the European Union." Information on EU countries, symbols, flags, currency, facts & figures, and history. Most of the information is free to access.

FedStats

"A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics."

Statistical Abstracts of the United States

This is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

UN Data 

Links to databases with statistics for almost every country in the world. Can also browse/search for general statistical information available through the UN.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

The principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Also serves as a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.

U.S. Department of State

The U.S. Department of State, often referred to as the State Department, advises the President and represents the United States in international affairs and foreign policy issues. 

World DataBank 

Link to the World Bank databases; combines the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Free to access. Great resource for statistics! 

Worldometers

Worldometers offers real time statistics on world population, government and economics, health, energy, social media, and the environment, to name a few. This is a great resource for up-to-date statistical information around the world.

General Information about Countries Around the World

Country Studies

Compiling extensive research done through the Library of Congress, the Country Studies website provides "a comprehensive description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world."

EUR-Lex

Access to European Union treaties, legislation, acts, international agreements, case law, and the Official Journal of the EU, the EU Pesticides Database, and the EU budget among many other legal resources in 24 languages. 

International Programs 

The U.S. Census Bureau provides both short- and long-term technical assistance on a wide variety of topics related to censuses, surveys, and information systems. Over the past six decades, the U.S. Census Bureau has worked in over 100 countries, and as such is uniquely endowed with experience in every major region of the world. Countries listed alphabetically.

The World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. 

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets

Organized alphabetically by country.